Villain Review

Particularly when watching a movie I’ve seen before, but sometimes with something new, friends and family watching with me may sometimes be annoyed, or amused, to find me rating the villain. When watching a movie, my ratings are typically incredibly arbitrary, but that’s half the fun. For example, most Disney villains wind up with a few thousand points in the negative, usually because towards the end portion of the movie I become so fed up with their incompetence I penalize them far harder than I might have otherwise. Most of my criteria for point deduction comes from Peter’s Overlord list  but some of it is just from my own opinions or situational factors.

I’d like to do more serious, less arbitrary reviews here on the blog. By more serious, I mean I want to have a specific rating system. I’m thinking it will be a system of six areas with up to one hundred and eleven points in each area, but I don’t have the specifics determined more than that. I will be doing these primarily by request, although from time to time if I encounter a villain with whom I’m particularly disgusted or impressed, I’ll review him here. If you’d like to request a villain, you can email me at rii.the.wordsmith@gmail.com.

My first literary villain review will be on Voldemort from the Harry Potter series. I’m choosing Voldemort for a few reasons, starting with the fact that my husband suggested he’d be a good start. He would be a good start. Most people know Voldemort, and there’s not much that’s spoiler at this point. However, I feel as though I cannot give a proper review of Voldemort without reading all seven books again. And we don’t own book one because I never owned my own copy and my husband’s got lost the last time his family moved. I could probably definitely get it at the library, I suppose, but I am a little busy to read the books right now anyway. What I mean is, it’ll be a while before we see the review.

I may write about Sauron instead since my husband and I are reading The Lord of the Rings right now. I’m not certain. He, too, is a villain everyone knows.

I may do a non-literary villain before then, but I haven’t decided either way yet. I very well may if I receive a request to do so.

As a side note, do not ask me to rate any villain from an R rated movie. I don’t watch R rated movies.

When I do a review, I’m still going to use my arbitrary point system (for a nostalgic/amusement factor); the six non-arbitrary points will be Personality, Deviousness, Foresight, Tactics, Minions, and Miscellaneous.

As soon as I determine a fair and consistent way to rate villains (and as soon as I finish LotR or the HP series again), you can expect my first review! (Unless I do someone else first, obviously.)

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
This entry was posted in Making Villains (Making Villains la-la-la!) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Villain Review

  1. I love your points system idea. 😀

    Like

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

