If I Had a Team of Pokemon…

This post has basically nothing to do with villains and everything to do with pokemon. And it’s a conversation post.

Anyway, I’d been talking with my husband after re-starting a game of Pokemon Crystal about what team of pokemon I’d have. And also how I wouldn’t be a pokemon master. I’d be like an NPC, like one of those generic females that lives in a house and gives you some novelty item if you burst in uninvited without even knocking, with advice like “If you do X thing your pokemon will love you more!” and random crap the player doesn’t care about like “I love SURFing on my Lapras!” and there’s probably going to be all my pokemon out and just chilling around my house.

Here’s what I have for my team:

An Eevee. Because Eevee has been my favorite ever since I was in the second grade, which is around when Pokemon first became a thing in the US.
A Lapras – because seriously, just, imagine SURFing on a Lapras, like floating down a river or something. You get a nice big can of REPEL to keep the stupid Tentacools away (WHY ARE THERE SO MANY TENTACOOLS? Freaking Zubat of the sea) you get a refreshing beverage, perhaps some SODA POP or LEMONADE, maybe your MP3 playing device…ahhh, so relaxing! I considered having my favorite Eeveelution, Vaporeon, instead…but Vaporeon is kind of small and it’d be more like swimming with a dolphin. I’m not a strong swimmer, I’d rather float on the back of a big, friendly Lapras.
Charmander – which I would train up to a Charizard, of course. Charmander was my first friend and pokemon. Also dragon. Nothing could be better. Except maybe Eevee.
Bellossum. Proof that I am not anti-non-first-generation…just generally anything beyond Gen 3. Anyway Bellossum will add balance to my part and is SO FREAKING CUTE. And pretty. And cute again.
Scyther. In real life, mantises are one of the only bugs that I don’t hate. In pokemon life, Scyther is just totally awesome. And I’ll use some sort  of life hack to teach my Scyther FLY. (There’s always Charizard if it doesn’t work.)
I would not have a sixth pokemon. There’s too many from which to choose that I still would want! I mean, Haunter is pretty awesome, but then there’s also Sneasle, and what about my other favorite fire starter, Cyndaquill? But then getting Cyndaquill would make my party unbalanced…but I’m really good at owning everything with fire anyway, and I already said I don’t care about being a pokemon master! And what about a Hitmonlee? Those things look awesome. The other five, I definitely want in my party. No doubt. But I’d be happy with any of these instead of any other. It’s just too hard to choose!

My husband would want a Tyranitar, a Shedninja, and that’s basically as far as we got with him. Maybe I can just get Sneasle to balance out the party, and shove all the other pokemon I want on him.

And then, in this Pokemon World – when my kid gets to be about twelve and comes home and shows me the pokedex s/he picked up from some crazy guy in a lab coat that couldn’t tell his or her gender just by looking at the kid, and he or she wants to leave home and go on a quest to become the next pokemon master…my answer will be no.

Anyway. What about my followers or any viewers dropping by who also enjoy Pokemon? What would your real-life team be? And what sort of trainer do you think you’d be?

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
Aside | This entry was posted in And Other Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

