Villain Sue to Come

Greetings, minions! This is to be a short post with a few short notes.

One, I will be trying to write and schedule posts ahead of time, but in case I’m not able to, I may miss a few upcoming weeks due to giving birth and then having a brand new baby. Next week won’t be a problem, but the weeks after…so just a heads-up.

Two, I’ve realized I’ve not been using my WordPress stats to their fullest use – namely in search terms. Hopefully I should be writing more about things what you all are interested in rather than just bits about which I think to write. If there ever are specific topics or questions you’d like to have addressed, I would be thrilled to do so, by the by. There are many ways to contact me – in addition to using WordPress capabilities, I have contact information under “About” if you’ll hover. There’s Facebook, Twitter, Gmail. (On the Contact page, I mention I would like to hear about topics that have to do with writing – but you can also drop me a friendly line, I would appreciate that just as much).

Three, I will be participating in NaNo this year. It’ll probably be my last year of doing so, but I have no idea what that will do to my blog posts. It will not be an excuse not to post, I would be foolish not to post for a whole month anyway. I just have a feeling it’ll mean more general writing advice and less villain specific advice.

Four, Villian Sue test – I mentioned above about search terms. One of the most common search terms was about a Mary-Sue test for villains – searches with various wording for such a test showed up many times. I am aware that there are a few villain Sue tests, and I’m aware they’re not very comprehensive and sometimes also of poor quality. I’ve been wanting to make a Villain Sue test for a very long time, long before I even considered making a blog, but I haven’t attempted it yet because a comprehensive test would be difficult to make – there’s many types of villains to consider, and many genres. But seeing as how apparently there are far more people than I would have guessed who would like a good Villain Sue test, I’m going to take my desire to craft one out of the “One Day” box and put it on a back burner. As a proper procrastinator, this means I’ll work on it a lot more than most people will work on a back burner object. It probably won’t be done quickly, but I hope to be able to work on it a lot once I do have a small human being that will require a lot of holding and humming/singing. I’ll have to be thinking of something interesting while I do so.  I have high hopes I can at least put up a skeleton by the end of October (for you people reading this, disappointed that this is just a post about how I’m going to make a test and not an actual test. Sorry.)

I make no pretense that I will be able to craft a perfect Villain Sue test.  I hope that you’ll all be willing to provide positive feedback once I get a good draft of it up. Together we can make that comprehensive test for which we’ve all (apparently) been looking.

Happy upcoming October to you all!

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
Aside | This entry was posted in And Other Things, General Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

