NaNo WriMo 2015

I wasn’t going to do NaNo because I can’t fast draft non-first drafts. My current WIP is on the final draft. I came up with a story idea that my Facebook friends liked, and my bestie said she’d come up with a random story, and we thought about doing a writer suicide pact to do NaNo, but ultimately we both decided it was better to focus on our WIPs.

But several members of my writing group are going to do NaNo, and not by breaking off their WIPs either (if I keep saying WIP, I’m going to start picturing us all flailing lengths of cord around and – yep, there it is – it’s especially funny for me since one of the MCs has a whip that’s as prevalent as any special sword) but instead they’re going to use NaNo to help them get back in the habit of writing every day.

And as I listen to the sounds of my baby unstack all of our movies and make instead a messy pile on the floor, I think to myself how successful I’ve been at writing every day, despite my goals to do so. And whose fault that is.

It’s mine. She’s made it hard, but it’s still my fault. She still takes a big nap every day, and will for a while more (except on bad and off days, I guess). I did NaNo last year when she was barely a month old, but that’s pretty different from having a one-year-old. I have to learn how to write every day again.

So that’s my goal for NaNo. The hard part is that for chapters 1-12, I’m just doing small edits. Lots of them, but stuff I can’t count the words for, not easily. So for anything I’m actually writing, I’d like to say at least 1,667 words a day…but for those first twelve chapters, I guess I want to try and get through one complete edit a day – which is to say, finish editing a chapter. That’s my goal.

I should probably get my baby, she’s gotten over to where we keep the SNES and Wiis.

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
This entry was posted in And Other Things, General Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

