pï (revenge of writer’s block)

While trying to scrape myself together enough to finally actually write a blog post, my baby came up and banged on the keyboard. I thought it was impressive that her random grasping at keys produced an umlaut which is possibly my most favorite..grammatical? mark (I also like semicolons since I actually know what they do) so I guess this post is called “pï” today.

It’s a good enough of a name as despite the fact that I’ve thought of several topics for today, and had a couple more suggested by others, I’ve just got writer’s block. Not the kind that I usually get when I’m actually writing, but more a deep aversion to writing. I think we all get this from time to time. In my case, it’s hard to tell the difference between flat out laziness – Sloth is 100% my sin – and depression, especially since I don’t know how much of my laziness is borne of depression anyway. Not all of it. I’m actually definitely just a lazy person. I know this time around, part of my aversion is a non-mental health issue as well that makes me just want to lay down with that dragon quilt my grandma made me and look pathetic.

With that in mind, I thought I’d draw more proper attention to a different post. I added it as a resource in the sidebar, labeled it “handling writer’s block/sometimes writer’s block is depression.” If you haven’t noticed it, consider giving it a read. I’m fairly certain that correlations between creative people and mental disorders, especially anxiety and depression, have been discovered and therefore I think there’s actually a lot of us writers who struggle with those happy two. So it’s worth a read, because self-care is a pretty big deal.

I also want to point out the “resources” side bar because I added two others, previously just found on an old post.

Anyway my block has been affecting my work on my story as well. While I wanted to try and edit a chapter a day during NaNo, I’ve…done maybe ten? So I tried to at least write every day and that was pretty spotty too. On the one hand, I actually made some decent progress, so yay me! On the other, I could have done a lot better. My MC is still a brat, but he’s come to trust me enough he usually lets me into his head without nearly as much argument. It’s not too hard once I get writing, usually. It’s just that I don’t want to even start.

Obligations like a writing group for which I really need to and want to post are helpful for forcing me to go along and edit anyway, or a guilt-trip pact with a friend, although both of us find each other not writing as much as we were supposed to with little consequence except the primarily pretend disdain of the other. (Idk, maybe her disdain is real, but I know for me it’s hard to actually be disdained when it’s hypocritical.)  And the post on the sidebar has plenty of tips, too. And of course there’s Write or Die which I will one day invest in – you can look for the older version too,  if you want an easy free version. While sometimes you might really need a rest day, and that’s okay, rest days can’t be every day so trying to get through things day by day without giving up will likely require a strategy beforehand.

Good luck, friends, with your own writer’s block, but as for me, I’m going to curl up in that quilt now.

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
This entry was posted in Making Villains (Making Villains la-la-la!). Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

