Drabbles

Having more technical difficulties. I got a tablet hybrid after my laptop died, and sometimes when I dock it in the keyboard, it just…randomly doesn’t work anymore. It’s very frustrating since there’s absolutely no reason for it. It’s gotten worse and is the last thing I want to deal with when I’m trying to write a blog post after forgetting until the last minute that today is Monday because despite how I might think it should go, Christmas does not make a week of Saturdays afterward.

Anyway I hope you all had great Christmases, and if you didn’t, then I hope that you’re having a good Monday, should such a thing exist, and barring all that, I hope you randomly gain mutant powers tomorrow and are able to wreak revenge on all those who oppose you.

x_men_team_pin_up_by_rkw0021

If I could have any mutant power, it’d be not being in student debt. No, wait, I want my mutant power to be one of those mythical adults I keep hearing about who have their lives together.

Anyway I’m about ready to throw Pandemonium – that’s my tablet – across the room (to be honest, most of my rage has to do with it starting this nonsense right as a zombie attached to my neck and I had to press the D key or die and obviously all I could do was die, I don’t even LIKE zombie games that much, I just want to earn that Kongregate badge and go) so lemmie just do a short post with a writing exercise.

It’s called a drabble. A drabble is 100 words, no more, no less. Certainly, typing exactly 100 words doesn’t have to be hard, but unless there’s some motion in the drabble, something that happens, it’s not a very good drabble. It’s like a hyper-condensed short story, so it has to have a purpose. Getting really good at these is actually pretty hard!

If you want to try it and share ’em, go for it – I haven’t done drabbles in a while but I’ve been considering picking it up again. It’s a good way to focus in on fast action, or bring out a poignant scene in a smaller space. Brevity is the soul of wit, they say, so use this to capture that soul in a jar and pretend like you have one. (Wait, maybe that’s just me who has to pretend.)

About Rii the Wordsmith

An aspiring author, artist, avid consumer of storytelling medium, gamer, psychologist (insomuch as one with her bachelor's is a psychologist), wife, mother, DM, Christian, a friend to many, and, most importantly, an evil overlord.
This entry was posted in Making Villains (Making Villains la-la-la!) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone knows something I don't; what do you have to say?

